VWFC vs Battersea Ironside

07/01/2017 Virginia Water 3 - 2 Battersea Ironside
Surrey Elite League 
Report by Ceri Jones

Virginia Water made a great start to the New Year with a hard fought win, full of character, having twice been pegged back by a stubborn and strong Battersea side.

Whilst Waters more than deserved the victory, they were made to sweat, and relied on a brilliant goal by Adam McNamara to win a brilliant game.


The home side started well enough, with some good passing and movement, with Steve Williams, McNamara and Jake Baker all going close.


The first goal came from a corner by Louis Sanders that was turned into the Battersea goal by their defender.

At 1-0 up at half time, with Matt Jones and the defence holding firm, Waters hoped it would kick start the second half, but it was a much harder battle than expected.

Despite Joe McBride, McNamara, Sanders, Williams and Samyint (hitting the bar) all going close again, the visitors got an equaliser against the run of play, when one of the home defenders (hindered by cramp) couldn’t cut out a ball that the Battersea striker basted home from six yards.


Waters picked themselves up and pressed for a winner, and went ahead, when Josh Hill scored from 25 yards with a terrific free kick.


A few more chances were missed, and with 10 minutes left from a high free kick into the box, despite the ref overruling our linesman for offside, Battersea equalised again from close range.

Not to be outdone, Waters went up the other end, and scored, only for the away linesman to flag for offside, which the ref supported this time.


With 5 minutes to go, and Waters pressing for the winner, the returning Paul Burrows went on a mazy run, and played in McNamara, who finished brilliantly to the keeper’s left.

No more than the home side deserved in a fantastic match.


Well done lads, terrific character and determination to Win!

MoM = Finn Evered & Joe McBride

Line up:


Matt Jones

Josh Hill

Finn Evered

Adam Mills

Max Samyint

Joe McBride

Liam Hill

Jake Baker

Steve Williams

Louis Sanders

Adam McNamara


Martin Peters

Gary Clarke

Paul Burrows