Abingdon United v VWFC

18/08/2018 Abingdon United 0-2 Virginia Water
Hellenic Premier Division
Report by Ceri Jones

Josh Hill (centre) celebrates for Waters

Virginia Water picked up their first win of the season away to Abingdon United, to the delight of manager Ceri Jones, “It is a good feeling to get our first win at step five and get that monkey off our back.”

A strong display in each half deservedly gave Waters the three points, at the excellent facilities and hospitality of Abingdon United. It could have been different were it not for an excellent early save from Matt Jones in the visitors’ goal, when the home striker was put clean through from a loose back pass.

Waters then got their game together and had many flowing passing movements, culminating in shots on goal by Josh Hill, Adam McNamara, Scott Jackson and Liam Whyte. The first goal came on 22 minutes, when Whyte flicked on a corner towards goal, which was blocked, but McNamara pounced on the rebound to notch his first goal of the league campaign. Waters could and should have added to this and forced a number of corners and set pieces, but resolute defending by the hosts kept them at bay.

The second half saw Abingdon throw all they could at the visitors, but Waters’ back five held firm despite the odd nervy moment. The excellent Josh Hill got the second, and effectively took the game away from Abingdon, when he nodded on a through ball from Josh Guichard and lashed his shot past the Abingdon goalkeeper. Whyte then almost added a third from a headed pass by Finn Evered, which would have been a little harsh on the home team.

Virginia Water dug in and held out for a good win, with a clean sheet also a real benefit to their confidence.

Jones continued, “It is reassuring, as the new kids on the block, to see how sporting all opposing management teams are at this level, despite the result – something we can learn from!”

Waters’ next game is at home to Flackwell Heath where they will be hoping to keep up the momentum.

Line Up:

Matt Jones

Josh Hill

Adam Mills

Finn Evered

Louis Sanders

Liam Whyte

Steve Williams

Harvey Griffiths

Josh Guichard

Scott Jackson

Adam McNamara


Richard Bond

Dom Clarke

Harry Brooks